The Beginning

We’ve all heard the music.

We’ve all heard about the culture.

We all love it

… or hate it.

EDM.

But for those of you who haven’t heard about it, EDM stands for Electronic Dance Music.  EDM is a genre of electronic music that is becoming more and more popular, and for some people, even a lifestyle.

I find this newly popular musical endeavor extremely interesting and exciting as it is beginning to define our generation’s music.

Through this blog, I hope to give you the tools to explore the EDM culture in and around San Luis Obispo, California.

Some things you can expect from my drop into EDM are:

1)   Festival/Concert Coverage

  • All info regarding upcoming festivals
  • Reviews of lineups, venue, and culture

2)   EDM Culture Do’s & Don’ts

  • What to wear to EDM events
  • How to be safe and sober at EDM events

3)   Song suggestions

  • Playlists of the week
  • Songs from best of the best artists
  • Songs from rising artists

When it comes to other blogs out there, I really like the topics and venues covered by a blog called “SLO Beats.” This student run blog does a great job of digging into the EDM culture in SLO, however, he focuses on different aspects of it than what I’m looking into.

I also enjoyed this student blog that covers the history of how EDM culture evolved.  I think it’s a great read for anyone who interested in the genre.  However, I plan to cover the current culture surrounding the EDM lifestyle.

More than anything, I can’t wait to show you guys the best songs that run wildly through the veins of EDM followers. I love how “Good Music All Day” and “This Song is Sick” introduce good music while also giving some background on it.  I hope to do something similar as this blog progresses.

Stylistically, I plan on presenting you with a simple, clean layout.  I have been inspired by my journalism friend Ashley’s blog on SLO running trails and the simplicity of her layout.

File:Sensationwhite 2007.JPG

Image by Skatebiter via Wikipedia

Bottom line, EDM is something you have experience at least once in your life.

Start your journey by following my blog!

XOXO,

Rachel

2 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. Awesome blog! It’s good to know that there are people out there actually doing something to spread the love EDM has to offer

Leave a comment